Little things that sour games for me.

So I tried playing Dying Light again. The first time I stopped playing was due to it not playing right, and by the time I got it working I lost all drive to play it. This time however it’s the plot that turned me away from it.

You as the character find an airdrop of the anti-zombie meds that the group of people THAT SAVED YOU NEED. You are then told by your boss that you have to destroy the drop. so the character takes one vial for himself and destroys the rest. Then justifies this under the banner of “the greater good”

FUCK. THAT. NOISE!

Men, Women, and CHILDREN, NEED the stuff. I don’t care if you have to take the long way to your goals you don’t reach them at the expense of children! It’s fucking abhorrent to me.

I have genuinely never see someone say “the greater good” without it being attached to a horrific act. Had the main character not have a choice in the matter, had he been controlled in some way, maybe I’d think differently. But to consciously accept an order that creates suffering and possible death and wave that flag to justify it. That man is no less a monster than the zombies he fights, and because of that, fuck him, and fuck that game.


This also brought me to thinking about what makes me stop playing games. Why do I put down a game or worse, excise it from my collection.

The simple answer is: time limits. Or more specifically when the entire game either has one, or every mission in the game has one.

Examples of this are:

Breath of Fire 5. Where you where give a time limit of 14 hours to save the life of a living air filter (I’m not even joking). Of course that 14 hours could be reduced by using special attack techniques. So IN AN RPG you couldn’t really explore the game as it was essentially wasting time you were unsure you had.

Mafia 2 – Joe’s DLC. Mafia wasn’t a bad game, but it was hugely flawed. No more obvious than in the DLC where you got to play as the main characters friend, Joe. The DLC gave you a large open world, something the main game didn’t do properly. And all the missions came in GTA style “go to icon to start”. Which was a lot less linear than the main game. The problem? ALL THE MISSIONS WERE TIMED. They went with this weird “have to get everything done fast” approach instead of telling the story and just letting people tell the story.

There are other examples but those are the two that stick in my mind the most. Time limits aren’t a bad thing, I’ve played a tonne of game that has certain missions or level that are timed. They can add a degree of urgency to a moment. But what you have them for EVERY Mission or have one for the ENTIRE game (especially an RPG). The limit the gameplay so much that it’s just not fun.


Endings also play a huge role in games for me. I’m a sucker for a happy ending, failing that I’ll take a satisfying ending. But games that end with the bad guy winning, the hero dying, or a cliffhanger. Can burn in a fire for all eternity.

I HATE protagonist deaths, they’re so fucking lazy. The obvious example here in Mass Effect 3 a game that says it has 3… well, 4 endings now, yet all the endings are exactly the same. Shepard dies, everyone else dies, Reaver’s win.

I do not buy that they were able to just repair the mass gates. Bioware were in full damage control mode with the extended ending and they were pulling shit out their arse. I’m really not going to go into Shepard dying in Mass Effect. It genuinely hurts me to even think about it. ME3’s ending literally killed the franchise for me, I can’t play the earlier games anymore because of how bad it was.

Suffice to say, a bad ending can kill a game for me.


That’s about all I can think of at the moment of what can kill, or sour a game for me. I’m not saying that all games need a happy ending. I really like the good ending of Infamous 2, which is a character death. So their are exceptions. But for the most part arsehole main characters, time limits, and character death/cliffhanger endings will sour me from games pretty must instantly.

Leave a Reply

