Star Trek – Horizon

With the latest news about Star trek – Axanar I decided to rewatch Prelude to Axanar, which is an amazing 20 minute short.

Because of this the fan film Star Trek – Horizon, appeared in my recommended lists on YouTube and I decided to check it out.

Being critical of a Fan film for me is akin to judging a baby who’s trying to walk, you know they’re giving it their all and you feel guilty for judging them. As such I’m not going to be as harsh as I would for a normal movie.


Let me start with a big positive. The space CGI was AMAZING, the quality of it was sublime. Really well made, fluid. Easily something a TV Show or movie would have. The alien world they go to, I loved its look, the different colours of the plants, a simple yet effective way to show that it was an alien world, really good.

The acting… was okay, really this is one point I’m willing to over look due to it being a fan film. The actors were trying, and while some of it was clunky, (the fire fights scenes spring to mind here), it didn’t take away from the movie.

There was however one big issue the movie had, and it was a distracting one: The green screens.

Okay, so I said the space based CGI was amazing, cause it was. but any scene that had human actors in front of a green screen just did not work, and it’s not even due to bad green screen. I’ve seen much worth in much more expensive movies.

No, the flaw here is that most of the time, when the actors are in front of a green screen the camera seemed to go into soft focus. I’d hazard a guess as it being a way to make the green screening look better? But the shift was massively distracting.

The other issue I has was that just about every conversation was near close up, very few wide shots. Again, fan film, I can technically understand why. But it was still massively distracting especially since near everyone delivered their lines with the top of their heads cut off.


I actually really liked this film, honestly it felt like a TV show pilot, and a good one at that. It wasn’t perfect, and if a sequel happened I’d like to see the crew be a bit more ambitious with the camera work, and the soft focus green screens toned back. But I would certainly give a sequel a look.

Good work to all involved.

I’m not going to post the movie here as if you’re going to see it you should do so via YouTube not here, but I am going to post a trailer.

Leave a Reply

