This is me after finally watching The Book of Life.

So many years ago I heard about an animation called The Book of Life. It looked bright and colourful, though not the sort of thing I’d watch in the cinema.

Fast forward to about 2 weeks ago I was in the mood to watch How To Train Your Dragon 2 again, and before the movie started there was a trailer for The Book of Life, and I remembered that it look good, and I wouldn’t mind seeing it.

Today… well technically yesterday, I was out shopping and I saw the movie for £3, instantly I snapped it up.

Oh boy, I’m glad I did, I’m ashamed it took me so long to see this movie, it was AMAZING!

Normally if I buy a DVD it’ll sit in a ‘to be watched’ pile for a very long time. This time though I decided to watch it same day I bought it, a rarity for me.

I really don’t want to talk about the plot, it’s good, but it’s more that atmosphere that grabbed me, the colours, the music, the art style, even the framing device just grabbed me pretty much straight away. It was energetic, emotional, and SO much fun to watch.

Movie’s like this are why I love animation so much.

The bit that really caught me off guard was when one of the three leads, a Matador, starts singing. now you’d think since this a tale of Mexico that he’d sing some Mexican folk music or something… NO he starts singing Creep by Radiohead! It blew my mind! Most of the sung music was contemporary songs and it was amazing!

I’m a fan of Guillermo Del Toro, he produced the movie. While he didn’t direct it, his trademark are all over this movie. But to be honest that just makes it more awesome to me.

If you haven’t seen this film, please check it out. If you don’t like it, that’s fine, but I do think the movie should get some love. It should be remembered.

Leave a Reply

