Why I can’t watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them again.

Okay, I thought Fantastic Beasts was a pretty good movie. I’ve already spoken about my hatred for prequels, but they is sort of done right. While we know the ultimate fate of Grindelwald. Everyone else around him is a new character, so we don’t know how it ends for them.

However, they is one scene, just one, that infuriates me so much I have no drive to ever which the movie again. It’s not the ending, it’s not some form of humour derived from embarrassment, no.

It’s the god damn execution scene!

Oh sweet jesus that scene boils my blood. When I saw it I was screaming at the screen. Texting my girlfriend as it happened. I was enraged.


And it wasn’t the fact that they had a death penalty. It was the way they carry out that sentence in the film… barbaric isn’t a term I’d use because it’s too nice!

They effectively trick a person into LOWERING THEMSELVES into a pool of living death. They pull their memories out which putting them into what I can only describe as a dazed trance and urge them to lower themselves into the pool where their memories are!

And if that wasn’t bad enough, the bitch that was urging the character into the pool did so WITH A SMILE OR HER FACE! “Doesn’t that look good!” Was her exact comment.

VOLDEMORT WAS MORE HUMANE, AND HE WAS THE VILLAIN!

I’m not saying they should use the killing curse, believe it or not I do understand the reason why that’s not used. But that style of execution… It’s akin to drugging someone and egging them on to kill themselves, and doing so with a smile. It’s not something a person should ever do.

And I know; “it’s just a movie.” yeah yeah, I get it. But it’s a scene that has made the movie hard, if not impossible to rewatch. Delores Umbridge will forever be the Potter character I hate the most, but miss “Doesn’t that look good!” is a close second. Anyone that can carry out THAT form of execution with a smile on there face… Voldemort is evil, she is worse.

Leave a Reply

