Indy games and endings. (Rebel Galaxy Spoilers.)

Well here we are again.

Another indy game, another unsatisfying ending.

Rebel Galaxy. Great game, think of it as a more arcade style Elite game. Here is SidAlpha’s Video about it, it’s the video that got me to buy it.


Now, I’ve talked about endings numerous times. And while RG’s isn’t bad, it is massively unsatisfying.

Spoiler Warning.

Basically, you spent most of the story befriending and helping an AI called Trell. Only for her to effectively sacrifice herself at the ending, transporting herself to unknown parts of the galaxy to save everyone from a race of aliens.

I’d say at least it wasn’t a protagonist death, but in this case it’s close enough to it. What annoys me is that the game hinted that once Trell was made complete, she was able to make jump gates to anywhere she wanted. I assumed this meant once the story was complete you’d have the ability to turn long haul deliveries that would take 2-3-4 jumps, into single jump hauls. Basically letting you go anywhere with ease. This would have been awesome. But instead it’s used by the plot then Trell as a character is removed from play.

It sucks! I liked Trell!

I don’t understand why indy games have bad endings, it ruins them for me. Replayability goes out the window for me if the ending is going to depress me.

Come on guys? Are nice, happy endings so difficult?

Leave a Reply

